City Hall News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Mayor, City Council and Park Board members break ground at Hawk Ridge Park

Post Date:08/29/2018 1:54 PM

RAYMORE, MO - Mayor Kris Turnbow was joined by members of City Council and the Parks & Recreation Board Tuesday afternoon at a ceremonial groundbreaking at Hawk Ridge Park. IMG_4010

“For 10 years, this park in the heart of our community has been home to some of our most popular programs and activities, including soccer games, archery classes, the annual fishing derby and just recently, the incredibly popular Mini Mud Run with more than 400 participants,” Turnbow said. “Now, at the direction of our voters, we are beginning construction on numerous amenities here that will only enhance this park and make it even more of a destination for our residents and those who visit our community.”

Additions to Hawk Ridge Park include an amphitheater, fishing docks, shelter house, permanent restroom facilities and expanded parking. The completion of these amenities is expected in spring 2019.

An inclusive playground is also on the list of new attractions that will be added to the park, however the full price of the inclusive playground is not covered under the 2016 voter-approved bond issues like the other amenities and will require community fundraising.

“To bring these kinds of amenities that allow every child the opportunity to play does come with a higher investment. But it is hopefully one that our community is willing to accept because making this park inclusive and inviting everyone here– regardless of ability– is the right thing to do,” Turnbow said.

To learn more about Hawk Ridge Park improvements, visit

To learn more about the inclusive playground, Hawk’s Nest at Hawk Ridge Park, visit

Photo from left: Mayor Kris Turnbow; Randy Dean of B. Dean Construction; Council members Sonja Abdelgawad, Reginald Townshend, Kevin Barber, Jay Holman, John Berendzen, Joseph Burke and Tom Circo; Park Board members Rich Bartow, Melinda Houdyshell, Michelle Seimears, Jennifer Cipolla, Steve Trautman and Ryan Supple.


Follow us on Twitter at @CityofRaymoreMO or like us on Facebook at  Links to both sites can be found by visiting the City’s website at

Return to full list >>